Brief History of Taraba State

Taraba_LGsTaraba State was created on August 27th, 1991 when the Babangida Military Administration carved it out of the defunct Gongola State.

The State derives its name from one of the three major rivers and covers a land area of 59,400 square kilometres. At inception, the state comprised only ten Local Government Areas namely; Jalingo, Donga (created on 27th August 1991 Zing, Lau, Karim Lamido, Sardauna, Bali, Gashaka, Wukari and Takum.
The State currently has sixteen local government areas as a result of the creation of the following new LGAs; Ibi and Yorro in September 1991 and Ardo Kola, Kurmi, Ussa and Gassol in 1996. 
There is also Yangtu, a Special Development area created by Danbaba administration in 2008 and NGADA Special Development Area which was created by Governor Darius Dickson Ishaku in September 2016.
The State derives its name from River Taraba and is made up of sixteen (16) Local Government Areas and two Special Development Areas. These areas constitute administrative units in three geopolitical zones with a total population of  about three (3) million people.
Facebook | Follow us | Call us|

Any Enquiry, Call/Text +2347088850874

OG Friend Of Naira

Sir. Jassen Japheth popularly known as Eflexnaija is a student of the Taraba State University. He's a unique user of the pen when it comes to the expression of whatever is entertaining and educative. A young man full of optimism & amusement and a passionate advocate of prayer, hard work & persistence as a formula for success. He is the Site Developer-in-chief of the organization and also a writer of news, articles, editorials and a lot more to help expand the level of knowledge of the readers and simultaneously have them entertained. A lover of music and football is who he is and a Software Developer.

WhatsApp chat